Safeguarding Commission

Safeguarding Commission

Appointed by the Bishop of Menevia and acting on his and the diocesan trustees’ behalf the Commission has both advisory and supportive functions. The Commission receives all national policies and via the Safeguarding Co-ordinator, implements and updates them across the Diocese as required.

The Menevia Diocesan Safeguarding Commission works closely with and monitors the work of the safeguarding team. It consists of representatives from the local authority, law and clergy, all of whom have a background in safeguarding procedures and implementation.

Whilst the Safeguarding Commission is part of the structure of the Diocese, it has a degree of independence and objectivity i.e. to join the Commission you do not necessarily have to be a member of the Church.

The commission is dedicated to supporting the abused during any investigations by enabling and encourages processes whereby they are always listened to and have their complaints acted upon.

The Diocese has developed an ongoing awareness programme for clergy through various safeguarding resources who deliver training to raise awareness of safeguarding issues and in promoting a healthy and confident ministry with children and adults at risk.

The safeguarding co-ordinator liaises closely with statutory authorities to ensure that when a disclosure is made, procedures are in place that allow for transparent practices.

The safeguarding policies and procedures of the diocese of Menevia are themselves part of a wider set of procedures carried out in all 22 Catholic dioceses of England and Wales.

The members of Menevia Diocese Safeguarding Commission are as follows:


Mr. Vaughan Pritchard Jones          Solicitor


  Canon Michael Flook            Clergy Advisor

Fr. Owen McGreal               First Menevia Diocesan Safeguarding Coordinator

 Deacon Peter Hounslow         `      Previous Safeguarding Co-ordinator.

 Sr. Nora Ryan                     Representative for the Religious

Mrs K Jones       Trustee link to the Safeguarding Commission